RSS

Stop, Look, and Listen

02 Apr

When I was in elementary school, I learned the song “Stop, look, and listen before you cross the street.”  It was to teach us to be careful crossing the street, to protect us.  Stop before going into the street.  Look both ways before walking.  Listen to hear if anything is coming that could hurt you.  When did I lose that lesson?  Who knows?  I do know that I lost it, and because it was lost, I allowed myself to be in overdrive, blind, and deaf.  That’s dangerous, right?  Just nod and agree here.

God has His own Stop, Look, and Listen lesson.

Stop and pray about what you do not know or are unsure of.

Look to God for your direction.

Listen to God telling you what is for your good.

When you do not heed God’s call, it is like running a red light, or a stop sign, right into the middle of oncoming traffic.

I have recently had memories of a particular pile-up.  There was damage that I would not care to experience again.  I had insurance that is God, but at the time, I was not paying my premium.  I saw red flags, heard sirens, and ignored the stop signs.  It was after that incident that I started learning to obey the “traffic signals”.  Just like in elementary school trying to be taught how to stay safe and protected, I still had a teacher.  An almighty teacher, at that.  How dare I believe I knew better!  There was collateral damage, too.  Man, if I had only paid attention to the red flags, the flashing lights, and blaring sirens.  I am so thankful that the Lord is forever faithful.  He will never give up on trying to protect me and give me refuge.

But the Lord is faithful, and he will strengthen and protect you from the evil one. 2 Thessalonians 3:3

 “How precious is your steadfast love, O God! All people may take refuge in the shadow of your wings.”  Psalm 36:7

The Liar has been banging away at me over the past few days and trying to get me to open my mouth and turn my focus from God.  He wants me to remain in overdrive, to remain blind, and to remain deaf.   That’s how I ended up in the accident to begin with.  I am working very hard to not allow that to happen again.

It started with a child’s song to protect me from those driving around not paying attention.  It has ended with me paying more attention than ever.  I will forever: Stop, Look, and Listen.

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 2, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
