RSS

Mountains

04 May

Image

Look at that.  Just beautiful is it not?   Admire the shades of greens and browns and the multitude of other colors.  That is God’s glorious mountain.  That is HIS work.  I would love to sit in that area and view that for the rest of my life.  The Lord created all that we see for us.  Creation begins in the first verse, in the first chapter, of God’s word.   Mountains are huge, and I have never even tried to climb one.  I do not even have the nerve.  I see it and think, “Oh no way that is too huge.  There is no way I can make it halfway up that thing!”

The mountain will tell you
 That you can’t make it over;
 It will try to convince you
That it’s way too high;
 Though you feel defeated,
Know that God keeps His promise;
So you tell the mountain
 Just how big your God is

I have been fighting my own mountain recently.  It is big, scary, and all I can hear are the lies because I lost the earplugs that I asked for  Here.  My mountains are not beautiful.  They do not have beautiful arrays of colors and beautiful sounds of streams in the distance.  They are not built from God’s hands with soil, rocks, moss, and grass.  My mountains are built of things like:

We get dirty and cut up with scrapes and dirt-filled eyes and ears,  and we scream to God, “OK, I GIVE UP!”  God says, good….it is about time.  I am, of course, paraphrasing.  However, look at this:

“[A]t my presence…. The mountains will be overturned, the cliffs will crumble and every wall will fall to the ground.”
Ezekiel 38:20

So why should we not ask for God to step in?  It is hard, sometimes, to remember that His presence will move our mountains.  We are too busy getting skinned knees and elbows, getting dirty, sore, and hurt, and wishing we had the easiest way to get over that mountain.  There is an easy way.  All we have to do is cry out for God’s help.

“But I have had God’s help to this very day, and so I stand here and testify to small and great alike.”  Acts 26:22

I had a huge mountain in my way recently, as previously stated.  Everyone I can count on was sleeping, except for one person reminding me of my grandchild I will be having near Christmas.  My mountain involved breaking a promise to someone I love very much, and I do NOT break my promises.  I needed to not wake her.  She would have sent me toward God anyway, so I took the shortcut, so to speak.   Some of them I couldn’t wake up even if I lit firecrackers in their nostrils.  I turned to a sermon I missed from a church I go to.  I soaked in the tub, put the sermon on my phone, and he was talking about mountains.  How to make them move.  How to get them out of the way.  Let God do His job!!  He is just waiting for you/me to get out of the way.

Dear God, I give up. I need your help.  I’ll step aside now and let you do what you do.  Thanks for that.  I love you.  Amen.
 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Mountains

  1. Jenny

    May 4, 2012 at 10:12 am

    What a great reminder. Thank you. I love this and I love you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
