RSS

Healing

01 Jun

Since I was at least five years old, I have had to begin healing.  I had to begin to heal emotionally, physically, psychologically, and most recently spiritually.  One of the most important factors of any kind of healing is time.  I have such a hard time with this as I am so very impatient.  I want to feel better right here, right now.  That is just not how things work.  Healing requires more than just time, though.

Last weekend at church, the pastor was talking about how God wants to heal us, and He cares about our issues, and Jesus died so we could live in blessings.   He cares about our physical ailments, our heartaches, and He very much cares about our souls.  Three truths regarding Divine healing, according to this pastor:  1.)  Healing isn’t simply an act of God.  It is a partnership between us and God.  2.)  Healing isn’t an event…it’s a lifestyle.  3.)  Healing is focused on a redeeming God.  He is the Hurt Redeemer!  He wants to heal us, but He will not do so unless we give Him that honor.  Think about it, can you help someone who does not want help?  Would you force your help upon them?  Most people would not.  Most people would wait around and wait to be asked for help.

When Jesus saw him lying there and learned that he had been in this condition for a long time, he asked him, “Do you want to get well?”  John 5:6

God wants us to ask for help.  He desperately awaits.

God requires three things for us in healing:  1.)  Obedience.  2.)  Change.  3.)  Responsibility.

As I sit here and type those three things out, I think about my healing from my surgery 5 weeks ago.  I think about what if I had not listened to my doctor and did what I wanted to do when I wanted to do it.  I needed to obey his orders, so that my body could/would heal properly.  I think about all the weight I have lost to help me feel better, healthier, and I think what would have happened to me had I not made the changes I did.  Yikes!  What if I expected someone else to fix me and take no responsibility for me at all?  Man, that’s a tough one to swallow.

I know that, spiritually, I am still very broken and wounded.  My job to God is to be obedient, to repent and change the way I live , and to take responsibility for what I have done and for allowing all those good things to happen without doubt or question.

If they obey and serve him,  they will spend the rest of their days in prosperity and their years in contentment.  Job 36:11

I tell you, no! But unless you repent, you too will all perish.  Luke 13:3

“Behold, I am coming soon, bringing my recompense with me, to repay everyone for what he has done.  Revelation 22:12

Do you really want to look into the face of God and lie about what you have done?  Do you think that He will not know?  I know that I am not a good liar to those who do not see my behaviors and actions, nevertheless to the One who sees and knows all.  Therefore, I choose to obey.  I choose to change.  I choose to take responsibility for what is mine.  I choose to be Healed.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 1, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “Healing

  1. Samantha

    June 1, 2012 at 10:43 am

    Healing isn’t an event, it’s a lifestyle – love that!

     
    • dawnpringle

      June 1, 2012 at 11:21 am

      Yeah, he also said, “Healing is a road, not a couch.” Giggle giggle snort snort. I really sorta did that when he said it originally.

       
  2. LaViza

    June 1, 2012 at 11:01 am

    This was very wonderful Dawn. I love you and I’m so proud of how you are healing!!!!

     
    • dawnpringle

      June 1, 2012 at 11:20 am

      Thank you, LaViza. I love you back!

       

Leave a Reply

 
