RSS

Biggest Bully

17 Jul

Conversation at hospital yesterday:

“Is your name Dawn?”

“Yes, it is.”

“Did you go to Palo Duro?”

“Yes, I did.”

“OMG, you were my biggest bully!”

Ok, so that stopped me in my tracks and hit a place so far deep into my core.  I became numb from the shock, and wrestled with those words for a couple of hours.  I still am wrestling to a degree.  I never in a million years thought someone would think that I was a bully to them.  Now, I say that knowing full well how I was in high school.  I do not deny that I was very angry, and anyone who looked at me in that tone of voice was probably going to catch it from me one way or another.  I never hit anyone.  I talked the talk.  If I would have had to, I would have walked the walk.  I never had to.  Here’s this woman, though, all these years after high school, and that is how she remembered me.  As another group was to start in the afternoon, I struggled with how I was going to handle this situation.  So, here’s what I did.  I stood up in front of the eleven people, and I said (pointing to this individual), “I have known her for a long time.  I was not nice to her in high school, and today she let me know that I was her biggest bully.  That hit me in a way I was not prepared for.  So, in saying all of that, I would like to say this, ‘Will you forgive me?'”  She looked me in the eye, and she said, “Yes, I absolutely forgive you.”  After that, another individual asked for forgiveness from others.  The whole point of this blog is just to let you know that people do not forget how you treat them.  One day, you may find out that you were someone’s biggest bully.  One day, you may need to ask for forgiveness from someone you have treated poorly.  Yesterday, I was humbled, and I was also set free by her forgiveness.

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Biggest Bully

  1. Samantha

    July 17, 2012 at 1:15 pm

    Incredible! And also remember that the good you do and how you treated that woman and her feelings NOW will be remembered with a bigger impression.

     

Leave a Reply

 
