RSS

Right Here

14 Nov

I have a lot of friends, but my best one is not right here.  I love both of my daughters, but one of them is not right here.  I love my husband, but he just does not always get it.  I need my biggest supporters for a variety of issues, but they are not right here.

This is the way a lot of us see things.  We want from him.  We want from her.  We want from them.  We need this or that from this person or that person.

What does God’s word say about needing on Earth?

Give to the one who begs from you, and do not refuse the one who would borrow from you.  Matthew 5:42

Man, being human keeps us from giving so freely.  This is not saying give only if someone will pay you back.  This is saying do not refuse the one who would borrow from you.  Do what is right by God.

So, what about when we need something?  We, the ones needing the support, the love, the kindness as we have given.  We are limited creatures, some of us doing the best we can, but we still come up short, at times.  We do not intend to do so, but we just do not have the capabilities to give others what they need right here.  We cannot look at any Earthly being or thing and honestly believe that is all we need to help us through.  Again, friends are so good, but they are of this Earth, which means they will disappear in one way or another.  What about God?  Are we not instructed to turn to God?  Are we not told that we cannot serve an Earthly thing or person and worship God all the same?  We are told we cannot do this.

“No one can serve two masters, for either he will hate the one and love the other, or he will be devoted to the one and despise the other. You cannot serve God and money.”  Matthew 6:24

We become so eager to get what we want now.  Right here and right now!  That impatient tendency causes us to reach to the unhealthy, unhelpful, and undependable.   Again, it is okay to share your burdens with others, but to depend on them completely is against what God has intended.

“Bear one another’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.”  Galatians 6:2

I love my friends.  I love them very much.  I do wish that I had a best friend who lived close by and who could be with me, or me with her, when we needed.

The best Friend that we can depend on to be right here, right now, is God.  What we need can and will be given through the Holy Spirit.

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness..”  Galatians 5:22

Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Kindness, Goodness, and Faithfulness.  Those are things we want right here beside us from those who are physically with us.  It just is not enough sometimes.  It is impossible to get all of those things from Earthly people or things.  We want that which we believe we deserve.  We do not deserve any of the aforementioned things.  I dare you to prove me wrong.  God, through the Holy Spirit can give us exactly what we want and/or need right here, right now.  If we place God as our primary best friend, we will never want for anything more.  Would we still want our best friends to be close to us?  Yes, but we would feel less empty if we allowed God, our Father, to be what we need right here and now.

We cannot solely live by what the people around us, or not so around us, can give.  We need more.  We crave more.  We cannot become full in our hearts without God and His Word.  That is what we want.  To be full, content, and comfortable.  We will not find it in any other human being, food, or money.  That type of fullness, contentment, and comfort is only found in one place.

“It is written,  “‘Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that comes from the mouth of God.’”  Matthew 4:4

This is how we get that “right here” satisfaction.  The Word of God is always here for us.  Right besides us it sits.  This is by no means a blog about getting rid of your friends.  It is, in fact, the total opposite.  I know I have to live without the person on this Earth I trust most because she is living so far away from me.  However, I know the One who lives closest to me is always in my heart when I need Him.  God is good.  Is he not?  He is so good!  He will never make a plan for you and then say He was busy.  He will never say meet me here and not show up.  God keeps His word.  I am just thankful I get to read it right here, right now.

“Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them,  for it is the LORD your God who goes with you.  He will not leave you or forsake you.” Deuteronomy 31:6

Right here, right now.  No, I am not talking about the song by Jesus Jones (not a coincidence for sure), but I am talking about God the Father, Jesus Christ the Son, and the Holy Spirit.  Go to them.  Ask for them.  God has been so willing to provide for me in the most recent days.  I know He is willing to provide for you what He believes you need.

Thank you for reading this.  I love you, and I want you to know the God I know and love.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
