RSS

A Willing Mind is a Terrible Thing to Waste

19 Dec

Have you ever wanted to know something so badly that you were willing to do whatever needed to be done to accomplish whatever feat you had in mind?  I have.  My wants used to be so material, but I understand that material things can be taken from me in a blink of an eye.  People come and go in and out of our lives.  I have spent the last couple years removing the toxic people out of my life and forgiving as much as I possibly can.  OK, as much as I possibly want.  I have never been a fan of reading any book never mind the Bible.  Every single day that passes I have found that my hunger for learning what I can about it is growing.

I have my days when I literally feel a wall in front of me trying to stop me for learning.  I feel a heaviness, a darkness that is scary and does not quickly go away.  I am fortunate that I have those days very rarely.  The past two or three days I have woken up and went directly to Jesus Calling and looking at verses given at the bottom of each daily reading.  Finding myself wanting to get lost in every word.  I feel good about that, right now, too.  I want to know what things mean, what everything represents.  I want to look at all the parables and particular books, chapters, verses.  I am almost finished with my ninety-day reading plan.  I am excited about this.  I have an inquiring mind.  I want to know.  I want to know so much more.  Nobody has that kind of time to sit with me and teach me all that I want to know.  I understand that I do not need to know all I want right now.  I just want to be able to seriously study each book.  I do not want to have to Google my way through understanding God’s word.  It is also obvious that God will direct me where to go and from whom I should learn.  I just wanted to share the news that my heart and mind are ready for deeper understanding.  If you have never known me, or if you really have known me, you should know that all of this is a mouthful for me to admit. 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 19, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
