RSS

Perspective: Lost

10 Jul

I have been complaining about so much lately.  I dislike that about me.  I have complained about not being able to do too much on my treadmill due to a physical problem.  I have complained the last three days about not having a working air conditioner in my house.  Trust me, I have complained more, but there just is not enough space, nor time, to type it all in here. 

I have worked on my physical health for a couple of years, now.  I have had periods of doing really well, and I have had periods of total and complete not so well.  I know what I have to do, however.  I just crave the motivation to do all I have to do.  As I was talking with someone the other day about not being able to move as quickly on the treadmill, she showed me something that made me think and think hard.  That meant I had to look at myself and my circumstances, and I had to think if what I was coming down on myself about was really so bad.

I appreciate those times.  I do not like them, necessarily, but I am appreciative.

As I sit here in my house typing this, I am frequently finding that I am only focusing on the heat.  I have been focused on how spoiled I am to have a house with central air and heat.  I have also been thinking about those who can not afford to run their air or heat.  Those who have no house to live in.  Those who have no clean, running water to keep cool.  I feel like I am, sometimes, that entitled American (shiver) that I do not want to be. 

Here’s what I know, for sure.  God gives me my daily bread.  He gives me what I NEED each and everyday.  I know that instead of complaining, I should be thanking Him for what He has given me today.  Those of us who have, often do not pay attention to those who have not.  We are too concerned about ourselves to understand and see that others are so very happy without any of the things we have.  Nobody promised me central air conditioning.  It is not a right.  It is a privilege.  While I will be ecstatic to get it fixed, I hope that I will never again lose sight of the people who have not.

I have opened a small window from my backdoor, and I have felt a cool breeze a few times.  Thankful.

My daughter brought me a frozen drink.  Thankful.

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
