RSS

Craving, Desiring, Coveting…

22 May

The title of this blog post has three words, and they all mean the same thing.  

For instance:

crave kreɪv(v.)craved, crav•ing.

  1. (v.t.)to long for; desire eagerly.

  2. to require; need:

    a problem craving your prompt attention.

  3. to ask earnestly for.

  4. (v.i.)to beg or plead (usu. fol. by for).

de•sire*dɪˈzaɪər(v.; n.)-sired, -sir•ing

  1. (v.t.)to wish or long for; crave; want.

  2. to ask for; solicit; request:

    The mayor desires your presence at the meeting.

  3. (n.)a longing or craving, as for something that brings satisfaction; hunger.

  4. an expressed wish; request.

  5. something desired.

  6. sexual appetite or a sexual urge.

cov•etˈkʌv ɪt(v.t.)

  1. to desire wrongfully, inordinately, or without due regard for the rights of others:

    to covet another’s property.

  2. to wish for, esp. eagerly.

  3. (v.i.)to have an inordinate or wrongful desire.

All of those words mean to want something you do not already have.  The idea for this post came when I watched numerous videos of young men and women singing from their very cores, and I thought to myself, “I wish I could sing like that.  I wish I had that talent.”

Then, I thought, “Dawn, this is not the talent or gift you were given.  Why can you not be satisfied with the talents and gifts you do have?!”  It was a humbling thought, really.  I find myself having thoughts about craving, desiring, coveting others’ gifts and talents.  It’s really unfair to me and everyone else around me that I do not appreciate, fully, what I have been given to share with others.  Mainly, it’s rude and unfair to the One who gave me such gifts.

As a society, we all crave more.  As if “more” is the answer to everything wrong in the world.  It simply is not the answer to everything wrong in the world, and it is most likely not the answer to most things.  Some crave attention, love, and relationships.  Some desire more money, bigger homes, nicer cars.  Some covet other people’s mates, lifestyles, and lives.  

When we turn our focus on what other people have, it is very hard to see and appreciate what we already have.  Wanting what someone else has places blinders on us, so that we see nothing else.  That’s a shame, really.  Think about it.  If we have a house, car, food, clothes on our backs, and shoes on our feet, we have more than most of the world.  Even if we have just some of those, we have more than most of the world.  Yet, YET, we still want what someone else already has.  That has me hanging my head in an Eeyore kind of way.  Where do we get the chutzpah to think that THAT is the way to live?  If we allow ourselves to be so busy constantly wanting something or someone else, we’ve committed a grave injustice.  We begin to live a life of greed and selfishness which is just ugly and dark.  Greed is a sin!  Here’s how the definition of greed reads according to Merriam-Webster:

:  a selfish and excessive desire for more of something (as money) than is needed

 

When we are so busy sinning, it’s hard to do what it is good and right.  When our hearts are so full of greed, there is no room for love.  That’s what this life is all about.  Love.  Give it unconditionally!  Accept it humbly!  Encourage it exuberantly!

Greed brings upon us a death which is lonely and unbearable.  Be content with what gifts, people, things you have.  

But each person is tempted when he is lured and enticed by his own desire. Then desire when it has conceived gives birth to sin, and sin when it is fully grown brings forth death. — James 1: 14-15

 

Let’s replace craving, desiring, and coveting with words like faith, hope, and love.

If I speak in the tonguesa of men or of angels, but do not have love, I am only a resounding gong or a clanging cymbal. If I have the gift of prophecy and can fathom all mysteries and all knowledge, and if I have a faith that can move mountains, but do not have love, I am nothing. If I give all I possess to the poor and give over my body to hardship that I may boast,b but do not have love, I gain nothing.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud.It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away. For we know in part and we prophesy in part, but when completeness comes, what is in part disappears. When I was a child, I talked like a child, I thought like a child, I reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I put the ways of childhood behind me. For now we see only a reflection as in a mirror; then we shall see face to face. Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.

And now these three remain: faith, hope and love. But the greatest of these is love. — 1 Corinthians 13

 

Love sounds a much nicer way of life than does greed and selfishness, doesn’t it?  

Be mindful of where your thoughts take you today.  Are they leading you to greed and selfishness, or are they leading you to love?  If you find yourself being led to greed and selfishness, you can change those thoughts.  Move toward love.

Be a gracious gift-receiver.  Be a loving gift-receiver.  Be a thankful gift-receiver.  

That for which we are so ungrateful, someone else is longing for out of necessity, survival.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
