RSS

One Week Out: An Open Letter to a Suicidal Friend

04 Dec

Thoughts from my Dark Chocolate Layer

Dear friend,

Yes, friend. That’s the first thing I want you to know; you are not alone.

You’re convinced there is no way out. That tomorrow has no hope and therefore today has no point. You believe everyone would be better off without you – if anyone even notices you’re gone. You have no idea how wrong you are on that one.

Sometimes, the wording people use to describe suicide is “selfish.” Stay with me a moment and let’s look at that. I have been suicidal. Now (2014), as I look back over that time, I actually agree that it was selfish. I think we hear “selfish” as one thing only; as greedy or not caring about anyone else but ourselves. But there is more than one way to look at it. I know that, for most of us stuck in the horrible haze of suicidal ideation, we actually are…

View original post 1,559 more words

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 4, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
