RSS

What Does Godly Look Like?

08 Apr

I have been criticized for dressing too casually for church at times in my life.  I have been told that “ladies of the church think you’re a lesbian because you wear jeans, don’t wear makeup, don’t do your hair.”  That was told to me by a pastor’s wife.  Yeah, I know.  I was driven away from church at that point.  I didn’t want anymore to do with it.  Was I the most Godly person at that time?  No.  Did that mean I was a lesbian?  No.  It’s a hurtful time when those who, I guess, are supposed to nurture your growth and relationship with God are the ones judging and damaging.  I still wear jeans and t-shirts to church.  I do not curl my hair.  I do not wear makeup.  I am a more Godly person than I was.  I am still not a lesbian.

Does Godly look like a three-piece suit designed by Ralph Lauren?  Does it look like a $500 haircut?  Does it look like A. Testoni shoes?  Does it look like a Vera Wang dress?  Does it look like a nicely done up-do by a premier hair stylists?  Does it look like a $3000 pair of Jimmy Choo shoes?

I don’t think it means any of those things just as much as being ungodly doesn’t look like jeans, t-shirt, Nike sneakers, and a baseball cap.  There is no specific look for a Godly person.  A Godly person could be the homeless person you passed right by and yelled at.  A Godly person could be the CEO of a business.  A Godly person could be any one of us in between there.  Godly is not a look.  It is a behavior.  It is a relationship with God.  It is doing what is good and right.  It is about loving and giving.  It is about 1 Corinthians 13:4-8.

 Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.  Love never fails. But where there are prophecies, they will cease; where there are tongues, they will be stilled; where there is knowledge, it will pass away.

That’s my take on it, anyway.

The next time you decide to judge someone’s Godliness based on their clothing, hair, or makeup, you might want to see what you are really wearing beforehand.

P.S.  I’ve never seen Jesus in anything Gucci.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 8, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “What Does Godly Look Like?

  1. Beverly

    April 8, 2015 at 3:18 pm

    I’m sorry they said that honey I Love You

     
  2. daveyone1

    April 9, 2015 at 6:18 am

    Faith comes from within , so who are they to judge if they too believe in an unseen God?

     

Leave a Reply

 
